The 22q11.2 Society

Promoting research, diagnosis, prognosis, and management of 22q11.2DS & related disorders

Profs. Bruno Marino and Nicole Sarles-Philip honored with 2020 DiGeorge Medal

It is with enormous pleasure that the Trustees of the 22q11.2 Society announce Professors Bruno Marino and Nicole Sarles-Philip as joint recipients of the 2020 Angelo DiGeorge Memorial Medal of Honor. Drs. Marino and Sarles-Philip were selected in recognition of:
  1. Their seminal contributions to the study of genotype-phenotype correlations in 22q11.2DS;

  2. Their pivotal roles in establishing world renowned subspecialty clinics at Sapienza University and Ospedale Bambino Gesu in Rome, and the Centre of Expertise for Developmental Anomalies of South France in Marseilles, respectively;

  3. Their unwavering commitment and service to individuals and families affected by chromosome 22q11.2 differences through their work with AIDEL22 in Italy and Generation 22 in France, as well as throughout the region and across the world, including as Medical Advisory Board Members for the International 22q11.2 Foundation; and

  4. Their longstanding efforts to support collaborative work globally through innumerable basic science, clinical and educational initiatives as members of the International 22q11.2 Modifier Consortium and the International 22q11.2 Brain and Behavior Consortium, in hosting biennial international 22q11.2 conferences in Rome '00 and Marseilles '06, and as founding Trustees of the 22q11.2 Society.
Without question, Profs. Marino and Sarles-Philip are recognized as experts on chromosome 22q11.2 CNVs nationally and internationally, but in addition they are acknowledged as world authorities in Pediatrics, Cardiology, Genetics, and Fetal Medicine. It is with inordinate pride that we consider Profs. Marino and Sarles-Philip as members of the 22q11.2 family, as we celebrate their individual and collective achievements conjointly with this award, the highest honor presented by the Society.

Following the COVID-19 pandemic, Profs Marino and Sarles-Philip will be recognized in person as recipients of the DiGeorge Medal at the 12th Biennial International 22q11.2 Meeting in Split, Croatia.


The 22q11.2 Society Registered Charity No. 1165896